Season 2018/2019
Season 2019/2020

Production Search

John Waters | Marc Shaiman


Musical based on the film by John Waters | Music by Marc Shaiman

Lyrics by Scott Wittman and Marc Shaiman | Script by Marc O’Donnell and Thomas Meehan

In German with captions | Translated into German by Jörn Ingwersen and Heiko Wohlgemuth

Premiere 15.09.2017
Location Großer Saal Musiktheater
Duration 02 hrs. 45 min.

Unfortunately, this production is no longer on the schedule


Baltimore 1962: Tracy Turnblad, a chubby Teenager with a zest for life, dreams of dancing on the Corny Collins Show, a popular local TV-show. While her mother, Edna, is afraid that she will be made fun of because of her looks her father, Wilber, encourages her. Tracy makes it onto the show and becomes the idol of many teenagers. She uses her newfound fame to champion the cause of racial integration. A great chaos ensues during the voting for “Miss Teenage Hairspray,” which Tracy initially wins but then disqualified, only to later be reinstated by the Governor of Maryland. At the inauguration ceremonies, Tracy makes her appearance and gets everyone to dance…     


Hairspray Amanda Whitford, Ensemble © Barbara PálffyHairspray Ariana Schirasi-Fard, Gernot Romic © Barbara PálffyHairspray Rob Pelzer, Riccardo Greco © Barbara PálffyHairspray Dinipiri Etebu, Ruth Fuchs © Barbara PálffyHairspray Hanna Kastner, Anaïs Lueken © Barbara PálffyHairspray Amanda Whitford, Ensemble © Barbara PálffyHairspray Kudra Owens, Jane-Lynn Steinbrunn, Meimouna Coffi © Barbara PálffyHairspray Peter-Andreas Landerl, Peter Lewys Preston © Barbara PálffyHairspray Ruth Fuchs, Gunda Schanderer © Barbara PálffyHairspray Jelisa van Schijndel © Barbara PálffyHairspray Ariana Schirasi-Fard, Dinipiri Etebu © Barbara PálffyHairspray Anaïs Lueken © Barbara PálffyHairspray Ensemble © Barbara PálffyHairspray Rob Pelzer, Amanda Whitford, Riccardo Greco © Barbara PálffyHairspray Riccardo Greco, Ensemble © Barbara PálffyHairspray Gernot Romic, Ariana Schirasi-Fard © Barbara Pálffy


Video for Hairspray


Tracy Turnblad
Ariana Schirasi-Fard
Edna Turnblad
Riccardo Greco
Wilbur Turnblad
Rob Pelzer
Link Larkin
Gernot Romic
Corny Collins
Peter Lewys Preston
Seaweed J. Stubbs
Dinipiri Etebu
Velma von Tussle
Anaïs Lueken
Kristin Hölck
Amber von Tussle
Hanna Kastner
Motormouth Maybelle
Amanda Whitford
Penny Pingleton
Ruth Fuchs
Little Inez
Jelisa van Schijndel
Mister Pinky / Harriman F. Spitzer / Schuldirektor / Polizist / Wachmann
Peter-Andreas Landerl
Christian Fröhlich
Prudy Pingleton / Sportlehrerin / Polizistin / Gefängniswärterin
Gunda Schanderer
Dynamite Lorraine
Kudra Owens
Dynamite Cindy
Meimouna Coffi
Dynamite Pearl
Jane-Lynn Steinbrunn
Perry Beenen
Andrew Cummings
Oliver Edward
János Harót
Maickel Leijenhorst
Charles Mitchell
Chantal Kharag Ram
Jagoda Palecka
Raphaela Pekovsek
Lou Ann
Sabrina Reischl
Lynsey Thurgar
Matteo Vigna